Mohit Chillar bought for Rs 53 lakh by Bengaluru Bulls

Posted On Nov 26 2019 by

first_imgMumbai, May 13 (PTI) Defender Mohit Chillar, a clerk in North Western Railway, saw his earnings jump nine-fold from 2014 when Bengaluru Bulls made a successful bid to grab him for a substantial amount of Rs 53 lakh for the upcoming season 4 of the Pro Kabaddi League at the players auction today. The successful bid for Chillar by Bengaluru for the right corner defender from season 2 champions U Mumba was the highest of the day at the auctions held here. Going into the auction each of the eight teams had been allowed to retain two players each who were with them for season 3. Chillar, who is set to turn 23 on July 13, had been bid for Rs 5.75 lakh at the first players action held in 2014 prior to season 1 of PKL, a property jointly owned by broadcasters Star Sports and Mashal Sports. “I feel very happy. I did not expect to get this much as I thought I would go from between 35 and 40 lakh,” Chillar, who hails from Nizampur village which is 30 kms from the Capital, told reporters via a conference call here. “I take special leave without pay from my employers when I take part in the PKL,” said Chillar who, however, said he does not entertain any thoughts of quitting his job after the windfall. Sandeep Narwal, of season 3 champions Patna Pirates, was successfully bid for by Telugu Titans for Rs 45.5 lakh while U Mumba held on to Jeeva Kumar for Rs 40 lakh, in the bidding for Group A players, whose base price was kept at Rs 12 lakh. Season 4 of PKL, to be held less than four months after the completion of season 3 in early March, is to be held from June 25 to July 31 with the first leg matches scheduled at Pune and the two semi finals and final at Hyderabad. The others bid for in Group A were: Jasmer Singh Gulla – Rs 35.5 lakh – Telugu Titans (old team Puneri Palton); Kuldeep Singh – 30.4 lakh – Patna Pirates – (old team Jaipur Pink Panthers); Surendar Nada – 30 lakh – Bengaluru Bulls (old team U Mumba); Dharmaraj Cheralathan – Rs 29 lakh – Patna Pirates (old team Telugu Titans); Rakesh Kumar – Rs 26 lakh (retained by U Mumba); Bajirao Hodage – Rs 20 lakh – Patna Pirates (old team Bengal Warriors) and Ajay Thakur – Rs 19 lakh (retained by Puneri Paltan). (MORE) PTI SSR ARS AH BS SDMadvertisementlast_img read more