OFC Nations Cup gets under way tomorrow

Posted On May 26 2020 by

first_imgWith the Oceania Teams Tahiti, Samoa, New Caledonia, Fiji, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Zealand and the host Papua New Guinea will vie for qualifier to the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia.The defending champions are Tahiti, who won their first title at the 2012 OFC Nations Cup and are looking forward to defend their title again this year.   The games will be played simultaneously starting tomorrow (Saturday)  with the Pool B division  at 16:00 when New Zealand will take on Vodafone Fiji and at 19:00 Vanuatu will play Solomon Islands in Pool B at Sir John Guise Stadium in Port Moresby.Other matches that will follow will be on Sunday when the host nation Papua New Guinea go up against New Caledonia followed by the game between the defending champions Tahiti and Samoa.Then on May 31, Vanuatu will play New Zealand and Solomon Islands will clash against the Fijians whilst PNG Kapuls will be ready to take on the champs Tahiti in their second game on June 1 and New Caledonia against Samoa.The last four games before the finals for Pools A and B will be played on June  4 and 5, respectively as  in Pool B, Fiji plays Vanuatu and New Zealand plays  Solomon Islands whilst in Pool A on June 5, Samoa  will take on Papua New Guinea and Tahiti meet New Caledonia.The finals will kick off starting on June 8 to 11.last_img read more